Garlic sesame pasta

I was looking for a quick and easy noodle recipe for lunch because I wasn’t feeling very culinary 🙄 

It annoys me sometimes that when it comes to looking for recipes the top search results usually flashes out Western sites with Western recipes that require weird recipes I don’t even understand, know or care. I wish there were good Singaporean food bloggers who share their favourite, easy recipes and gives me suggestions where to get it from in Singapore. 

So in times when I need easy, tasty recipes right down my alley, I go to my go-to site, Rasa Malaysia. I’ve been a fan since London days. All my adaptations of Malaysian cooking came off her, a Malaysian based in US. Her recipes are down to earth and always a sure hit! Just can’t rave in a way that expresses how much I like her site. 

Her garlic sesame pasta recipe is unassuming and I was a little doubtful at first, which was why I didn’t take a before picture. Me and The Husband enjoyed it enough we slurped the pasta with great satisfaction. 


Boil some pasta, mix in the sauce:

  • Two tablespoon soya sauce
  • Two tablespoon oyster sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon of sugar (The Husband doesn’t like his food sweet so I reduced the original recipe)
  • 7 cloves of garlic, finely minced (The Husband likes his garlic and we need to finish up our garlic. A tad strong and our breath stinks but it’s still all good)
  • One tablespoon of white and black sesame seeds each (we like sesame seeds…)
  • 5 stalks of scallions chopped (what can I say, we’ve to get rid of our stock in the fridge)
  • Half a teaspoon of black vinegar (ran out of Apple cider vinegar)

The original recipe might have been much, much better than this but my adaptation worked for us. 

I got The Husband to cook a chicken dish and he used up another 5-6 cloves of garlic. I think it’s safe to say our breath is not good for public today!

This entry was posted in The Missus cooks and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

